Supernatural

So, I have been talking about this for weeks now, but I thought I would share it on a public profile other than Facebook.

I enjoy watching Supernatural more than I have ever enjoyed any other television show. I am still working on catching up, but I am in a couple of places at once and I really like where the story is and where it is headed.

After finishing the first season I watched the special features on the final disk. I have concluded that my passion for this series is due to a number of things. Though it started out as a bonding element between my stepdad and I, it has become so much more.

1. The chemistry between Jenson Ackles and Jared Padalecki is so overwhelming. When I watch the show, I know that they had an awesome time filming it. I strongly believe that the more someone is enjoying what they’re doing, the more the audience has the ability to take the journey with you and become engrossed with the story.

2. The passion of the production team is quite evident, especially as the seasons progress. Obviously a Pilot is a Pilot is a Pilot: special effects are rough around the edges in the first season due to budgeting and all that jazz. However, the CGI required for the story they’re telling is still very well done for being an experimental season. As the story and seasons progress, though, the effects become more and more intricate and inviting.

3. The wit in the script flows so naturally. I don’t think that the humor is forced at all. The writers do very well to adapting the situation and finding the need for the humor in the right moments. This also comes with the comedic timing of the actors; which, again, is an advantage to the chemistry.

4. The music… Oh, the music. I found a great quote on some merchandise at Cafe Press: “Supernatural: Bringing back classic rock, one episode at a time.” Granted, this is somewhat paraphrased, however, it is just so true. One of my personal drives for film or television is influenced by the music: original score, soundtrack, composition, etc. No, I don’t know that many composers, but I know enough having been a music student. I usually make up my mind to see a film after watching a preview and hearing the music. This show has awesome scored and an amazing choice of music. Even in the Pilot, they list the soundtrack for the series: classic rock. I just can’t get over it!

5. I don’t think that there are words. I am still a woman and I reserve the right to appreciate the beauty:

The time has changed to Fridays at 9:00.

Leave a comment