Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

In my directing class we have to choose two scenes to direct and have our fellow actors in the theatre program volunteer for us. For my second scene I chose a scene from Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead because A.J, one of the guys who agreed to be in my scene, had asked me to. I had to read it over my Spring Break, and told him that I would let him know. I was nervous because I was having a difficult time following it. However, I found it quite amusing when I thought of him and his roommate, Sam, doing a couple of the scenes; the thought was just so hilarious.

We do two showings per scene, one on our own, then after the first showings our professor (theatre director) gives us suggestions and pointers, then we do them again. This play has been fun to read and I was so excited for my first showing. I was not expecting much of a response from KJ, our director, but I was pleasantly surprised by her encouraging words. She told me that I did a good job with it and that she was impressed by the way that I handled the scene.

We did “The Questions Game;” I will be posting a video of it after we do final showings after April 19th, and you will see why I was so excited bout this scene. My challenge and notes for our next showing is to really capture the Postmodern worldview that this play was born out of. There is a place where the game is “paused” and Guil asks, “Where’s it all going to end?” We were playing it as a casual question to his friend, Ros. However, KJ told me that I should not be afraid to flip; though this is a comedy, there are places to turn the tone. That is one of them.

In between tech week for Macbeth (ironically enough, all of us are already involved with Shakespeare this semester), classes and full work schedules this week, we are going to work this scene. I am not worried; actually, I am still quite excited to see where this scene will go. I hope that I remember to record it and post the video for you in a couple of weeks!

Leave a comment